Your not hearing me

This morning I came into work and my manager was upset. I called off yesterday because I was sick and she was left with three people as a result. Ideally age would have had between four and five employees working at that time. She was understaffed and stressed.

Immediately I jumped on the defensive. I had a fever, I was actually sick. 

It left me with a bad taste in my mouth. I went to put on my work apron and when I came back she said “You’re not hearing me.”  I am upset because I didn’t have enough people. Suddenly it clicked. She needed to be actually heard. She needed me to listen and empathize. 

Yet I was too caught up in clearing my own name. Caught up in my own agenda.

I need to actually listen. I have to listen ​and actually hear people.

Leave a Reply

