Be a kid

“My only criticism of you, is that you need to learn to be a kid; to soak in the moment. To live in the moment.”

My employer told me that. Think about that for a moment, my employer!

There’s a reason that is my weakness. It is partly personality. I am  always trying to get things done. I have goals, dreams and I am insanely driven.

I am a responsible person. I have had many responsibilities since the time I was barely a teenager. I worked on my 12th birthday (it was babysitting but still). I am the kind of person people turn to. The kind of person who steps up. The kind of person who tries to handle it all.

I have many younger siblings and I feel and sometimes am responsible for them. My life has been that way for many years and I am only 21 years old.

Plus my boss just told me I need to be a kid.

The problem is that I have spent so much of my life being responsible. I have dealt with things only adults should deal with, and while I am ever grateful for those life experiences I missed out on just being a kid.

Kids fascinate me. One of the things about them that fascinates me is how they live. They have no worries, no fears.

Most of all though, they are not afraid to fail and that is something I need to get better at.

What about you? Do you need to be more like a kid?

 

Leave a Reply

