Good enough

I found myself at the ocean. At the hottest part of the day on a Saturday in August. It just might be the worst time to go to the ocean.

It’s hot. You get sunburned. Parking takes finesse and even then there are no guarantees. There are lots of people.

Still I went to the ocean. Amid whining from my sister about her love for the less crowded waterfront with abundant parking.

I love the ocean. I love everything about it. I am a beach bum at heart. I could write a novel about my love for the ocean. Only that’s not the point of this post.

For three years I lived twenty minutes from the ocean. I sometimes went to the bay. More often I just didn’t. I didn’t want to pay for gas to get there. The bay was easier.

I didn’t go to the ocean. I never went to the beach. I settled for good enough. I settled for easy not for what I loved. I didn’t make the extra effort. I settled for good enough.

I don’t want to do that anymore. So I went to the ocean. What have you been settling for?

2 comments

  1. Love the ocean too. It’s about 10-15 minutes from and definitely should go more often cos it makes me feel calm straight away as soon as I’m there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

