ice-cream in the afternoon

IMG_20160617_145407

I eat ice-cream in the afternoons while listening to country music, wearing a t-shirt and ripped jeans. This is the dream. This is my dream.

This isn’t something I do everyday but occasionally I do and it is every bit as wonderful as it sounds.

There’s a lot I want to write. My life is going at such a rush that I feel swept up with it. There is so much going on and I am behind. My head, my heart and my mind cannot keep up with all that is going on.

Truthfully that is the case.

I think as a young college student I make the mistake of thinking that my life is put on pause for something. This is my life. This all of it, right here.

If I feel swept up and somehow lost in all of it that is because I am not made for this. I am not made for this crazy busy.

I am made for rest. I am made to relax. To have time to breathe. I am made to be.

So yes I eat ice-cream in the afternoons and I soak in that moment. That moment is utterly ordinary and yet so precious to me. So I celebrate it the best way I know how, with ripped jeans, a t-shirt, ice-cream and country music.

 

Leave a Reply

