Musings on writing & goals

I have not been doing a lot of writing lately. I had been wanting to spend less time plugged in, less time on my laptop and more time in the moment.

Only that did not really happen. I got a new phone. My first ever smartphone and I love it. I also love Instagram, my Duolingo app, checking my email 27 times a day and reading all the blog posts immediately.

But did I mention I love Instagram? I check it daily, more like hourly. I follow hundreds of people. I take photos all the time and I want it all to be perfect.  It is a little bit of an obssession.

It also means that I am very much plugged in. I am constantly taking in stimuli. I am seeing other people’s photos, reading and absorbing their thoughts instead of thinking my own.

I stopped writing all at once. I got busy. I got stressed. I got sick. You know how life goes. Plus while sick I spent three days in bed watching Netflix and knitting.

I realized that I don’t sleep well at night as a rule. I like to be spontaneous. The idea of a strict schedule makes me Ill.

I am not good at cleaning everyday, or praying everyday , or even brushing my teeth. I know strict plans are not for me. Yet I still need to do these things everyday. As well as other daily things like exercise. I also try to read everyday, I have for years and I am not half bad at it.

I thought about where I am in life and where I want to be. I want to be fit. I want to be a woman of prayer. I want to make a writer. However to be a writer you must write. All of these things have one thing in common.

Discipline.

I need to live a disciplined life.

Now to figure out how..

Discipline

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

