self-care

There are some blogs I read as soon as there is a post and Modern Mrs. Darcy is one of the them. She writes a lot about daily living and often, very often she talks about self-care. You would not think it but stopping self-care can very easily creep into your life without even realizing it.

A few weeks ago I was falling apart at the littlest thing. I knew that I was feeling burnt out or really the precursor to being burnt out which I like to call crispy on the edges kinda like toast.

Things in my life are starting to pile up at this point in the semester.

Up until this point in the semester I had been getting a lot of sleep, watching occasional episodes of Freinds, spending some time writing and listening to music each week and occasionally reading.

This was what I needed to do in terms of self-care.

Then I had a big paper due and I ended up getting little sleep, stopping the rest of my self-care and spending a lot of time laughing out of sheer exhaustion.

A week in I could really feel the effects and I felt awful. I was also wondering what was even wrong with me. Then it hit me. Self-care.

“She turned to the sunlight And shook her yellow head,And whispered to her neighbor- -Winter is dead.” (1)

I don’t care how busy you are. You need to take care of yourself maybe even more now than when you had less to do.

Do what really rejuvenates you. Being outside does that for me. Take time for you. Take time for your soul.

What do you do to make sure that you take time for yourself?

Leave a Reply

