Deeper than coffee love

“I will know that when I meet someone who I love more than food that is the one.”

Profound words. One my friends spoke these about someday finding the man to marry. She has not found him yet but one day she will. That much I know.

That way of putting love in those terms struck me.

It hit me and it started a prayer in my life.

I want to love you Jesus. I want to love you and desire you, more than I love and desire coffee.

I happen to have a coffee addiction. My love for coffee runs deep and I have been drinking it steadily for the past five years. I have been drinking coffee since I was 16.

Recently I was telling someone about my 16 year old coffee-chugging self.

My Dad introduced me to coffee when he figured I was done growing. My Mom was against my coffee drinking habit however. As a result I would wait on the daily for when she left the house. Then I would rush to make coffee. I would put it in coffee mugs and coffee cups and hide them all around my bedroom. So I could drink it all day long and at night too.

Coffee

That girl in the meme is me. That is how much I love coffee. It is one of the first things I think about in the morning. My thoughts often return to coffee throughout the day. Focusing on the problem at hand how to get more coffee into my system.

I also don’t just drink the caffinated type. I drink decaf too. I drink it morning, noon and night (sometimes).

It is my comfort. It pulls me back. Everyday you willl find me at the source. Pouring another cup. Making another pot or stopping by a coffee shop.

I want my love for Jesus to be like that.

I want to desire Jesus like that. I want to need Jesus like that. I want to need him like I need my coffee. I want to desire him like I desire my coffee.

I could live without coffee. I chose not to but I could. However I cannot live without Jesus.  Yet I try to.

So Jesus, please help me to love you and desire you more than I love and desire coffee.

Please not my love for coffee is slightly exaggerated. 

Jesus, please help me to love you more than I love coffee.

Leave a Reply

