Not made for comfort

There is a quote by Pope Benedict XVI, a quote that often finds me and pushes me.

“You are not made for comfort, you are made for greatness.”

These words found me as I made the decision that next summer I need to do something different. Next summer I need to do an internship or at least something close to my major. I need to grow up.

I sound like a child writing that but it is true, I need to grow up. Right now, this job is wonderful. I love it. But, my time here has come to and end. That’s so hard to say and writing it is even harder because it feels so final.

I hate saying goodbye. Really hate it, leaving behind something or anyone that you love is hard.

So I cried a little, (well perhaps more than a little) on my way home.

Something has ended. It’s ok to be sad. It’s normal to be sad.

I know I have to move on to something else.

I was not made for comfort. Moving on, a new job sounds scary. I am also so ready.

As much as it hurts, I never want to be comfortable, ever. 

Because I was not made to be satisfied with mediocrity. I was not made to be good enough. I was made for more.

I was made to grow and to do that I have to be uncomfortable. I want to be uncomfortable. Because I never want to stop yearning, searching, striving, becoming.

Most of all I never want to forget that I simply was not made for this world.

The ache I feel in the hard moments reminds me that I was not made for this, I was made for something greater.

So I never want to be comfortable. I want to keep growing, as  a person, in my work. Ultimately I want to become the best that I can be.  I believe that life is a journey and right now  this journey means that I am not settled. I am wandering. Searching, growing, becoming.

So my greatest desire today is that I never become comfortable. Because I was made for greatness.

Leave a Reply

