Believing the voices we hear

I went on a women’s retreat this past weekend. Part of me cannot believe I did that. It seems so unlike me but all that aside it caused me to realize something.

See all weekend I was bombarded with words. There were signs up but it was also in what people said to me and the talks I heard.

Over and over again.

You are Beautiful and you are Enough.

Things that I struggle to believe about myself.

Things that I have always struggled to believe about myself and I know that I am not alone in this struggle.

Towards the end of the weekend I realized that I was starting to believe it.

Starting to believe I was beautiful, that I was enough.

I realized that the voices we hear change how we view ourselves. That when we hear a message over and over again we start to beleive it. Regardless of whether it is true or not.

Our culture tells us, You need this to be beautiful. You need to buy things because you are not enough. The message we get from others is often you are not enough.

We hear the lies and soon enough we start to beleive them.

The problem is that although we believe this things, it does not make them true.

Just because you hear something over and over again does not make it true. But it does cause you to believe it.

Think then about the messages you hear.

Are they true or are you just believing them because you have heard them a lot?

Words have a power over us. They influence us. Here are my words of truth for you today.

You are beautiful. You are enough.

One comment

  1. At first I thought you were going to talk about what a terrible time you had. However, this is a great post and it sounds like you came away with a lot!! Keep it up and don’t listen to the naysayers!0

    Like

Leave a Reply

