I don’t know what I want to be…

It’s the question all of us twenty somethings get. What are you studying? What are you going to do when you grow up?

I have an answer for those people who ask me. I tell them some of my hopes and dreams. I tell them that someday I want to go to grad school.

I hate it when they ask after that…and then what?

The truth is I don’t know. I don’t know the answer to what are you going to do when you grow up? I know a little bit. I know a few of the things that I love. A few of the things that I enjoy.

I have ideas of what I want to do but I do not know. The truth is that none of us do. The idea that at age 2o I am supposed to know what I want to do with the rest of my life is downright ridiculous.

I don’t know. Neither does everyone else. We have ideas but not one of us has it all figured out.

Not one of us can know what the rest of our entire lives are going to look like. We just don’t.

That’s ok. I know what I want to do. But I do not have life all figured out. All I know is the next step. I know that tomorrow I will go to class and study what I love. I know what I love and what I am supposed to be doing today.

I do not know anything past that and honestly that makes life ten times more exciting. I don’t know the road I am to travel. I just know what path to take when it forks but even that I do not know until I get there.

The real answer then is I have no idea. Although I do know this, I want to spend my life doing what I love and what I am passionate about.

To do that I will keep following my dreams, one step at a time.

Leave a Reply

